Arch House, Bed & Breakfast Accommodation, Roscommon. Ireland
Email Arch House B&B, Roscommon
Tourism, Things to do, Roscommon, Accommodation, Arch House, Roscommon
Homepage - Reservation Enquiry - Facilities - Gallery - Local Activities - Local Attractions - Contact / Locate Us
LOCAL ATTRACTIONS
IMAGE GALLERY
  attractions in roscommon
Roscommon Castle

Roscommon Castle is located just outside Roscommon town. It was built in 1269 by Robert de Ufford, Justiciciar of Ireland, on lands he had seized from the Augustinian Priory. The castle was besieged by the Connacht King Aodh O'Connor in 1272, Eight years later it was again in the hands of the English garrison, and fully restored. By 1340 the O'Connors regained possession of it, and held it for two centuries until 1569, when it fell into the hands of Sir Henry Sidney, Lord Deputy. In 1641 the Parliamentarian faction gained it until Confederate Catholics under Preston captured it in 1645. It remained in Irish hands until 1652 when it was partially blown up by Cromwellian "Ironsides" who had all the fortifications dismantled. It was finally burned down in 1690 and thus it gradually fell into decay.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION:
Tel: +353 (0)90 662 6342
Web: http://www.discoverireland.com


Roscommon Town Park and Playground

Loughnaneane Park is a 14 acre recreational area situated in the north western area of Roscommon town bordered by the ruins of Roscommon Castle which is a dramatic and imposing 13th Century Norman Castle. The Park includes a crannog known locally as the Hill o' Bones, a wildflower meadow, bird walk, lake feature, mounds, children's playground and car park. The playground is a special facility within the Park. It has been designed to cater for children up to twelve years


Stroketown Park House and Famine Museum
Strokestown, Co. Roscommon

Strokestown Park House is an 18th century mansion which has been faithully restored. It is unique in that it retains its original furnishings and professionally guided tours allow visitors to browse freely through the stately surroundings.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION:
Tel: 00 353 71 9633013
Fax: 00 353 71 9633712
Email: info@strokestownpark.ie
Web: http://www.strokestownpark.ie


Lough Key Forest Park & Tree top walk
Boyle, Co, Roscommon

Lough Key has for many centuries drawn people to its spectacular views, abundant wildlife, historic buildings and evocative islands.

This beautiful landscape is steeped in a rich history, beginning with Neolithic and Bronze Age settlements, continuing through the 12th Century rule of the MacDermot Clan and up to the 1600's when the Lough Key lands were granted to an English family under the Cromwellian settlement. The Kings resided at Rockingham, as their estate was known, until 1957 when a huge fire destroyed their mansion, although it was the early 1970s before the ruins were finally razed to the ground.

Now after major development the historic backdrop encompasses a landmark cluster of unique attractions serving the needs of a 21st century visitor with a new lakeside centre providing an ideal gateway for gentle leisurely activities or more energetic pursuits in the Park.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION:
Tel: +353 71 967 3122
Web: www.loughkey.ie


Hodson Bay on Lough Ree with new Aquarium

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION:
Tel:
Web:


Clonalis House
Castlerea, Co. Roscommon

Clonalis House - ancestral home of the O'Conors of Connacht Nestled in a crescent of cypress and redwood trees and overlooking a parkland of oak and copper beech, sits Clonalis House a wonderful Irish Country House and ancestral home of the O'Conors of Connacht. The family here are direct descendants of Connacht's traditional ruling dynasty and in the 12th Century AD, of Ireland's last High Kings.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION:
Tel/Fax: +353 (0)94 962 0014
Web: www.clonalis.com


Arigna Mining Experience
Derreenavoggy, Arigna, Co. Roscommon

The Arigna area has a long tradition of mining which dates back to the 1600s when Charles Coote established iron works at Crevelea and Arigna. Charcoal, made from local timber, was used in the smelting process; however, as local timber supplies reduced, it was necessary to find an alternative fuel. It was through this search that coal was discovered in the area. In 1788 the O’Reilly brothers founded an iron foundry where, for the first time in Ireland, coal was used in the smelting process.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION:
Tel: (071) 964 6466
Email: info@arignaminingexperience.ie
Web: www.arignaminingexperience.ie


King House
Interpretive Galleries & Museum, Boyle, Co. Roscommon

Explore this magnificently restored 18th Century Georgian Mansion and delve into the dramatic episodes of its history with stories of a tragic Irish romance, cattle raids and great banquets, family feuds, a murder trial, mutiny, and feats of bravery and hardship in war of the famous Connaught Rangers Regiment.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION:
Tel: +353 (0)71 966 3242
Fax: +353 (0)71 966 3243
Email: kinghouse@roscommoncoco.ie
Web: www.kinghouse.ie

 
Arch House Bed & Breakfast, The Walk, Roscommon. Ireland. Tel:+353 (0) 90 6634746 Mobile: +353 (0) 87 9188520 Email: info@archhousebandb.com
 
Nicecube Website design & development, Ballinasloe, Galway